Reference
Reference Desk Hours
Mon:11-12, 12:30-2:30, 3-6 pm
Tue: 12:30–2:30, 3-6pm
Wed: 10–12, 12:30-2:30, 3-6pm
Thurs:10–12, 12:30-2:30, 3-6pm
Fri: 9am–12, 12:30-2:30pm
Sat: 10am-1pm; 3:30pm-4:30pm
Sun: 2-4pm
Except during the Summer Session
when reference is by appointment
Phone
(619) 961-4351
Catherine Deane
Patrick Meyer
Hadas Livnat
Torin Andrews
June Mac Leod
Books on Appellate Advocacy Generally
The following are just some titles on the topic in our collection. Please browse the shelves around the call numbers given below to find additional material.
Legal Periodicals
Legal periodicals provide a wealth of sophisticated and detailed legal
analysis. Typically, law review or law journal articles address a
single topic or subtopic in great depth. If legal scholars have written
on your topic, you should take pains to identify those articles. You
will likely want to cite to those articles in your paper. Additionally,
if you hope to write a publishable article, you will need to
differentiate your arguments from arguments that have already been made
on the subject.
Here are a few legal periodical titles specific to this area of law.
Remember that general interest law reviews may also have published
articles on your topic, so it is wise to run searches in the larger
combined databases on Westlaw and Lexis to ensure that you do not miss
any important articles.
The journal of appellate practice and process Westlaw Lexis Hein Print
American Journal of Trial Advocacy Westlaw Lexis Hein Print
Journal of Legal Advocacy and Practice Westlaw Lexis Hein Print
About this Guide
Welcome to TJSL's LibGuide for Appellate Advocacy. Here you will find information about resources at the TJSL Library that can help you with your coursework, including finding primary and secondary sources, law reviews, journals and websites.
Written by Jane Larrington
Primary Law Sources
Primary law governing this area of law includes the federal and state
court rules, statutes, and case law. In reviewing the seminal secondary
sources, you should have already gathered citations to relevant code
and rule sections as well as major case law. Relevant federal
resources are listed below. State court rules, codes, and cases can be
located in the California collection and in the state code section on
the 2nd floor.
Once you have reviewed those sources, you can use the Library
References and Annotations section that often follows an annotated code
section, to help you expand your research. Once you have reviewed
several of the major cases, use the Headnotes of those cases to
identify relevant Digest Topic and Key Numbers and use those to expand
your case law research. Additionally, you can run a citator
(Shepard’s & KeyCite) report for the cases you have already
identified, in order to expand your case law research.
______________________________
Statutes
United States Code KF62 .A2
United States Code Annotated KF62 1927 .W45
United States Code Service KF62 1972 .L38
______________________________
Cases
United States Supreme Court Reports KF101 .A314
Federal Reporter KF105 .F42
Federal Supplement KF120 .F42
Expanding Your Research
Searching ThomCat
Search ThomCat, the TJSL Library catalog at: http://tjefl.iii.com/.
You may run a keyword search for a specific subtopic (e.g., brief
writing) or use relevant Library of Congress subject headings some of
which are listed below to expand your search:
Appellate courts
Appellate procedure
Certiorari
Civil procedure
Courts of last resort
Criminal procedure
Oral Pleading
Trial practice
United States Supreme Court
Profile |
Contact Info Thomas Jefferson School of Law 2121 San Diego Avenue San Diego, CA 92110 (619) 297-9700 x1100 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Westlaw
Westlaw
Adding the tab called Moot Court (click on Add a Tab on the far right
of your Westlaw window, select the middle tab called Add Westlaw Tabs,
and find Moot Court) will give you quick access to many of the relevant
databases, including secondary and primary sources. Look for texts and
treatises, encyclopedias (Am.Jur. or C.J.S.), and law reviews and
journals.
Note: Reading someone else’s brief can give you some great ideas
for structuring your own, so you should look at Briefs databases for
examples of similar arguments or causes of action. Remember, though,
that these briefs are only as good as the lawyer who wrote them. Do not
use them as a substitute for your own legal research and analysis.
Navigate to the Litigation section of the Directory for access to even
more relevant databases. Finally, you can try searching the Directory
for relevant terms like “appellate advocacy,” “trial
advocacy,” “appellate briefs.” These strategies will
also work for locating primary law on Westlaw, including federal
appellate cases, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, and U.S. and
California Supreme Court briefs.
Lexis
Lexis
Click on the Research Tasks tab and select Federal Litigation or California Litigation for easy access to many of the relevant databases. Look for treatises, encyclopedias, law reviews and journals, and briefs. You may also click on the Find a Source tab and type in “appellate advocacy” or a similar topic to retrieve materials. These same strategies will work for finding primary law on Lexis, including appellate cases, court rules, and briefs.


Loading...
