This is the "Home" page of the "Critical Race Theory" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Critical Race Theory  

Assists students in finding resources for the Critical Race Theory class.
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2011 URL: http://tjsl.libguides.com/CritRace Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

Welcome to TJSL's LibGuide for Critical Race Theory.   Here you will find information about resources at the TJSL Library that can help you with your coursework, including finding primary and secondary sources, law reviews, journals and websites.

Contents



Written by Hadas Livnat and Catherine Deane

Profile

Profile Image
Hadas Livnat

Contact Info
Thomas Jefferson School of Law
San Diego, CA 92101
Send Email

Westlaw

Navigating Westlaw.

Click on Directory (top middle of your screen) to get a full menu of available databases on Westlaw. From there, you can "drill down" to the specific database you need by clicking on a series of increasingly specific folders. Note: if you begin from your Law School tab or California tab, you are only seeing an abbreviated menu of the most popular databases.

Topical Practice Areas. To navigate to many relevant databases on Critical Race Theory:
-Directory (top middle of screen)
  -Topical Practice Areas
    -
Type "race"or a similar keyword in the search box at the top of the directory to retrieve relevant databases.

Look for texts and treatises, encyclopedias (Am.Jur. or C.J.S.), and law reviews and journals.

 

Lexis

Navigating Lexis. Navigating through Lexis can be confusing until you understand the system. You must make a series of selections on 2 or more rows of tabs. The first row of tabs is obvious (in beige), but it's easy to miss the second row -just below the first row (in red). Sometimes, an additional row of tabs will appear a few lines down the page (in gray)

Area of Law - by Topic. To navigate to many relevant resources on Critical Race Theory:

 

1st Row: Search
2nd Row: by Source
3rd Row: Legal

Click on Area of Law - by Topic in the right column.

3rd Row: Find a Source. Type "race" or a similar keyword in the search box at the top of the directory to retrieve relevant databases.

 

Using ThomCat

ThomCat

ThomCat is the TJSL Library's online catalog. You can search for books, electronic resources, periodicals, audio, video, and more.

Search by Title, Author, Keyword, or Subject.*

Print

If the resource you're interested in is a print resource, look for the

Location (e.g., Federal & Multi-State Materials (4th Floor South)) and
Call Number (e.g., KF3467 .M3 1979).

Use the signs at the end of each aisle of stacks to locate the appropriate call number. Books in the Library are arranged by subject, so you may want to browse nearby for more on your topic.

Electronic

If the resource you're interested in is an electronic resource, look for a link to the subscription database in which it is located.

*A Subject search uses specific vocabulary established by the Library of Congress.  For example, "family law" is not a valid subject, "domestic relations" is used instead. If you do not find what you are looking for with a subject search, try a keyword search or ask a Librarian for assistance.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip